Paul Charosh Independent Scholar Fellowship

Judith McCulloh
Paul Charosh

Paul Charosh is a retired member of both the Sociology and Computer Science Departments of Brooklyn College (CUNY) with a scholarly interest in the social history of American music beginning in the mid-nineteenth century.  Though he does not possess formal music-related credentials, his articles have appeared in American Music and other scholarly publications.  This award seeks to encourage others to do independent work as music scholars, even if their formal training and careers may have evolved elsewhere.

The Paul Charosh Independent Scholar Fellowship is intended to foster research by independent scholars, and to encourage their participation in Society conferences. For purposes of this award, an “independent scholar” is someone who does not teach at an institution of higher learning, or who does so with a non-renewable contract of one year or less. Applicants are not required to hold any particular degree or certification. They may be current SAM members but others, pursuing a scholarly life outside the academy, are also eligible.

The initial award will be in the amount of $1,500. The recipient will be expected to attend and participate in the Society’s 2018 conference in Kansas City. Specific conditions of the participation will be made in consultation with the award committee and the Society’s Board. The awardee’s name and presence, and nature of their participation in the conference, will be noted in the program. Conference registration fees for the awardee will be waived.

Application Information

Applicants will provide a letter of application with contact information (mailing address, phone number, and email address) and an overview of your engagement with American music as an independent scholar; a 500-word (maximum) narrative describing your research project; one or two sentences explaining how attending the SAM conference will benefit you and/or your project; a statement of any support that you receive from an employer for research or travel to meetings; and a current CV or resume.

The award is offered once annually. The maximum award is $1,500.

Applications should be emailed to the committee chair, Carolyn Bryant.

Entry Deadline
November 1, 2017

Members of the Committee

Carolyn Bryant (2017-18), chair; Ross Fenimore (2016-19), James Doering (2017-20)

Previous Fellows

Award Year Fellow

Heather Buchanan

2016 Felicia Miyakawa