Edward T. Cone Fellowship

Judith McCulloh
Edward T. Cone

The Fellowship recognizes Edward T. Cone's contributions to American music as a composer, musicologist, and theorist. A member of Princeton University's faculty from 1946 to 1985, Cone's numerous compositions include a symphony and works for chorus, piano, voice, orchestra, and chamber ensembles. From 1979 to 1985 he also held the position of the Andrew D. White Professor-at-Large at Cornell University. Cone authored two of the twentieth-century's most influential books on Western music: Music Form and Musical Performance (1968) and The Composer's Voice (1974)

The Edward T. Cone Fellowship is awarded competitively to scholars at any phase of their careers whose research interest is focused on the history, creation, and analysis of American concert music, ranging from solo or chamber music to symphonic works. The Fellowship may support research expenses, including but not limited to travel expenses, books, and media resources. The maximum award is $2,000.

To be eligible, an applicant must be a member in good standing of the Society. Click here to join or renew!

A one-page budget and final report are to be submitted by the recipient to the Executive Director of the Society no more than one year after the award is presented.

Application Information

The Society for American Music seeks to award fellowships to support a broad spectrum of research conducted by society members. Projects that have already received SAM fellowship support (Block, Graziano, McCulloh, McLucas, Thomson, Tick) are not eligible to receive the Cone Fellowship.

Please submit the following by November 1, 2018 via email to Jim Steichen.

  1. A general description of the project, not to exceed 500 words.  This should describe the relationship of the research to your scholarship, the intellectual rationale, significance to the field of American music, and expected outcome.
  2. A plan of work, not to exceed 500 words. This should describe the various components of the research to be undertaken with fellowship funds and a timetable.
  3. A detailed budget for all expenses requested.
  4. Your contact information, including email, address, and telephone.

Fellowship Committee

Jim Steichen (2017-2019), chair; E. Douglas Bomberger (2017-18), Elizabeth Hoover (2018-22)

Previous Fellows

Award Year Fellow
2018 John Kapusta, “Here We Are Now”: American Music in the Culture of Self-Actualization
2017 Jonathan Verbeten, “Gottschalk: An American Pianist in a Eurocentric America”