Richard Crawford Fellowship

Richard CrawfordThis Fellowship honors Richard Crawford, the innovative and widely influential historian of American music, two-time winner of the society’s Lowens Book Award, recipient of the society’s Lifetime Achievement Award, and founding editor-in-chief of Music of the United States of America (MUSA) – a series of scholarly editions representing the full range of genres and idioms in American music.

This fellowship supports research conducted by contracted MUSA volume editors. It funds research expenses involved in the preparation of critical editions, including but not limited to travel expenses, lodging, books, and media resources. The maximum award is $1,000. The fellowship is awarded at annual conferences held in even years, starting in 2018.

Application Information

1. Applicants must provide the following documentation:

2. Applicants must be members in good standing of the Society for American Music.

3. The award is given at annual conferences held in even years, starting in 2018. The maximum award is $1,000.

4. A one-page budget and final report are to be submitted by the recipient to the Executive Director of the Society no more than one year after the award is presented.

Applications should be emailed to the committee chair, Michael Broyles,

Entry Deadline: November 1, 2019

Members of the Fellowship Committee: Michael Broyles, chair (2017-20); Stephen Shearon (2017-22), Lyn Schenbeck (2017-22)

Previous Fellows

Award Year Fellow
2018 Laura Moore Pruett, La nuit des tropiques and Á Montivideo: A Critical Edition of Two Symphonies by Louis Moreau Gottschalk (MUSA)