Book Award Application Information

Lowens Book Award Competition for a book published in 2017

DEADLINE: June 1, 2018
Committee Chair: Daniel Goldmark

The Society for American Music invites scholars to submit books published in the year 2017 for consideration for the Irving Lowens Book Award. The Society annually awards this prize to the book judged as the best in the field of American music. Any book on American music with a year 2017 imprint is eligible.

We define the term “American music” in its broadest, most inclusive sense. We view it as composed of the music of all of North America (Canada, USA, Mexico, Central America, and the Caribbean) in its historical and contemporary styles and contexts, including art and popular cultures, ethnic groups and minorities, immigrant composers, performers, and communities, along with American music’s ramifications on cultures elsewhere in the world.

The Lowens Book Award represents one of our most prestigious honors and carries with it a monetary prize as well as a citation that will be presented at the annual national conference each spring. View a list of previous award winners, from 1983 to the present.

Publishers should have five (5) copies of any books they wish to have considered sent to the selection committee (one copy mailed directly to each member listed below). Please do not send multiple copies to the Chair. Make sure that submissions include a note that the book is being submitted for the Lowens Award. Send one copy to each of these addresses:

  1. Daniel Goldmark
    2478 Queenston Road
    Cleveland Heights, OH 44118

  2. Julie Hubbert
    Associate Professor of Music
    School of Music
    University of South Carolina
    813 Assembly Street
    Columbia, SC 29208

  3. Dr. James Deaville
    School for Studies in Art and Culture: Music
    A 819 Loeb Building
    Carleton University
    1125 Colonel By Drive
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
    K1S 5B6

  4. Gillian Rodger
    3616 S. Quincy Ave.
    Milwaukee, WI 53207

  5. James Leve
    2583 S. Highland Mesa
    Flagstaff, AZ 86001

Publishers, if you are interested in submitting your book electronically as a PDF, or for any further information about the award, please contact the committee chair.

Visit the Lowens Award page for more information about the award and a list of past winners.