Margery Lowens Dissertation Research Fellowship

Marjorie LowensThe Margery Lowens Dissertation Research Fellowship honors Margery Morgan Lowens, a founding member of the Sonneck Society for American Music, who played a pivotal role in its growth through her service, support, commitment, and philanthropy. Margery Lowens served as the society’s first vice-president while her husband, Irving Lowens, also a founder of our society, served as president. The fellowship seeks to address her vision, developed through her career as a scholar and teacher, of supporting student research at the early stages of the Ph.D. dissertation process.  


The fellowship is awarded competitively to students at the early stages of their dissertation research on American music. As the Society for American Music is dedicated to the study, teaching, creation, and dissemination of all musics in the Americas, we welcome proposals on all topics related to music in or of the Americas from students in all relevant fields (including, but not limited to, musicology, ethnomusicology, and American studies).

To be considered for the fellowship, applicants must be in the early stages of their Ph.D. dissertation research and must have advanced to Ph.D. candidacy between January 1, 2017 and July 1, 2018.

Award Amount

The maximum award amount is $4,000. Applications for smaller amounts are welcome, and the Society may split the award between multiple fellows. The successful applicant/s will also receive one complimentary year of membership in the Society.

Award Requirements

The fellowship may be used to fund research costs (including but not limited to travel expenses, books, and media resources) conducted or purchased between July 15, 2018 and September 30, 2019. A one-page budget and final report must be submitted by the recipient to the Executive Director of the Society no more than one year after the award is presented. 

How to Apply

To be considered, please submit the following as a single pdf.

  1. a one-page letter of application with contact information, including mailing address, email address, and telephone number,
  2. a copy of the dissertation proposal,
  3. a narrative of no more than five pages (double-spaced) that describes the scope of the research to be conducted with the aid of the fellowship, and clearly articulates the need for and use of the requested funding,
  4. a one-page budget outlining the expenses for which the fellowship will be used (the committee particularly values budgets that show accurate, realistic, and frugal estimates of expenses that are vital to the research project).

Under separate cover, the dissertation advisor should submit a letter of reference that includes the official date when Ph.D. candidacy was achieved.
All items must be submitted via email by July 1, 2018 to the committee chair, Patrick Warfield.

Fellowship Committee

Patrick Warfield (2017-19), chair; Mary Ingraham (2017-20), Jesse Karlsberg (2018-21).

Previous Fellows

Award Year Fellow
2018 Co-winners:
Siel Agugliero, "Imagining Italy, Surviving America: Opera, Italian Immigrants, and Identity in Philadelphia, 1880-1924"

Katie Callam, "Curating Musical America, 1900-1945"

Kathryn Radishofski, "Sound, Memory, and Displacement: Hip-Hop Memorialization and Gentrification in New York City"
2017 Co-winners:
Hye-Jung Park, Cold War Musical Diplomacy between the United States and South Korea (Ohio State University)

Arathi Govind, Locating Mobility: Rethinking U.S. Popular Music Through Indian American Practices (University of California, Berkeley)