44th Annual Conference

Kansas City, Missouri
28 Febuary - 4 March 2018

Call For Conference Seminar Topics
(deadline: 20 Feb 2017)

The Society for American Music invites proposals for seminar topics for its 44th Annual Conference to be held in Kansas City, Missouri, 28 February - 4 March 2018. Seminar-format sessions are devoted principally to a moderated discussion of a set of papers submitted in advance and posted on the SAM website. These papers will relate to two chosen seminar topics that reflect current issues in the field, recent hot-button issues, important but neglected areas of study, or new fields of research. Papers related to the selected topics are posted prior to the conference on the SAM web site and are read by attendees before the meeting. At the seminars themselves, authors present only 5-minute summaries of their papers; the rest of the 90-minute session is devoted to discussion.

Seminars are developed in two stages: (1) selection of the topics (and their coordinators) and (2) selection of the actual papers related to those topics. The call now is for stage 1. Those wishing to act as seminar coordinators are asked to submit proposed topics by the initial deadline of February 20, 2017. The program committee will vet these proposals and select two of them, which will be announced at the annual conference in Montreal in March 2017. Then, in conjunction with the general call for presentations (papers, panels, posters, lecture-recitals, etc.), the program committee will invite submission of abstracts for the seminar papers themselves. The submission deadline for the paper abstracts will be June 1, 2017. (Accepted papers will need to be sent to the SAM office electronically by February 10, 2018 so that they can be made available on the website well in advance of the meeting. The suggested length for the actual papers is 4,000-6,000 words.)

SUBMISSION GUIDELINES: The Society for American Music is dedicated to the study, teaching, creation and dissemination of all musics in the Americas. Potential seminar coordinators should propose a broad topical theme in some area of American music. Topics, even those focusing on specific genres or regions, should ideally be issue-oriented and widely relevant. Proposals should consist of a 500-word abstract describing the topic, a bibliography of pertinent scholarship (not included in the 500-word count), and a CV from the coordinator. The proposal should convey the breadth of the topic, with reference to relevant bibliographical sources. Each session will be 90 minutes long with no stated limit on the number of papers. Submissions for topics should be emailed to plaird@ku.edu, on or before February 20, 2017.

Program Committee

Paul Laird, chair
Andrew Granade
Monica Hairston O'Connell
Nadine Hubbs
Gregory Reish
Douglas Shadle

Local Arrangements

William Everett, Chair