Past Meetings and Conferences of SAM

Below is a list of the conference locations for the annual conference of the Society for American Music.

Special Meetings

1983, Keele, England; Host, University of Keele
1988, Oxford, England; Hosts, Oxford University and University of Keele
2000, Toronto, Canada. "Toronto 2000: Musical Intersections"

1975, Middletown, Connecticut; Host, Wesleyan University
1976, Bayside, New York; Host, Queensborough Community College, CUNY
1977, Williamsburg, Virginia; Host, College of William and Mary
1978, Ann Arbor, Michigan; Host, University of Michigan
1979, New Orleans, Louisiana; Host, Tulane University
1980, Baltimore, Maryland; Host, Peabody Conservatory
1981, Greenvale, New York; Host, C.W. Post University
1982, Lawrence, Kansas; Host, University of Kansas
1983, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania; Host, Temple University and the Free Library
1984, Boston, Massachusetts; Host, consoritum of Boston-area institutions
1985, Tallahassee, Florida; Host, The Florida State University
1986, Boulder, Colorado; Host, University of Colorado
1987, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania; Host, University of Pittsburgh
1988, Shaker Village and Danville, Kentucky; Host, Centre College
1989, Nashville, Tennessee; Host, Middle Tennessee State University
1990, Toronto, Ontario; Host, Institute for Canadian Music, University of Toronto
1991, Hampton, Virginia; Host, Christopher Newport College
1992, Baton Rouge, Louisiana; Host, Louisiana State University
1993, Pacific Grove, California; Host, Fresno State University
1994, Worcester, Massachusetts; Host, American Antiquarian Society
1995, Madison, Wisconsin; Host, University of Wisconsin-Madison
1996, Washington, D.C.
1997, Seattle, Washington; Host, University of Washington
1998, Kansas City, Missouri; Host, University of Missouri, Kansas City
1999, Fort Worth, Texas
2000, Charleston, South Carolina
2001, Trinidad and Tobago
2002, Lexington, Kentucky
2003, Tempe, Arizona
2004, Cleveland, Ohio
2005, Eugene, Oregon
2006, Chicago, Illinois
2007, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2008, San Antonio, Texas
2009, Denver, Colorado
2010, Ottawa, Ontario
2011, Cincinnati, Ohio
2012, Charlotte, North Carolina
2013, Little Rock, Arkansas
2014, Lancaster, Pennsylvania
2015, Sacramento, California
2016, Boston Massachusetts
2017, Montreal, Quebec, Canada
2018, Kansas City, Missouri