SAM Honorary Members

Each year the Board of Trustees recognizes a well-known, prominent senior figure who has made important contributions to the field of American music by granting an honorary membership. This honor is signified by a certificate and public ceremony that confers life membership in the Society, with all rights and benefits.

Click on the links for more information about the Society's honorary members.

Beverley Diamond
Zhou Long and Chen Yi 
2018 Honorary Members
Award Year Honorary Member
2018 Chen Yi and Zhou Long
2017 Beverley Diamond
2016 Terri Lyne Carrington
2015 Olly Wilson
2014 Ellen Taaffe Zwilich
2013 Pharoah Sanders
2012 Doc Watson
2011 No award given
2010 R. Murray Schafer
2009 Tony Isaacs
2008 Riders In The Sky
2007 Thomas Hampson
2006 Muhal Richard Abrams
2005 Pauline Oliveros
2004 Chris Strachwitz
2003 Mike Seeger
2002 Loretta Lynn
2001 Hollis Urban Liverpool
2000 Oscar Peterson & Georgia Sea Island Singers
1999 Van Cliburn
1998 Libby Larsen
1997 Gerard Schwarz
1996 Leonard Slatkin
1995 Gunther Schuller
1994 Max Roach
1993 Lou Harrison
1992 John Cage
1991 Frederick Fennell
1990 No award given
1989 Bill Monroe
1988 Carleton Sprague Smith
1987 H. Earle Johnson
1986 Vera Brodsky Lawrence
1985 Gilbert Chase
1984 Irving Lowens
1983 Otto E. Albrecht
1982 Wilfrid Mellers & Virgil Thomson
1981 Howard Hanson
1980 Lester S. Levy
1979 Nicolas Slonimsky