Richard Crawford Fellowship


This Fellowship honors Richard Crawford, the innovative and widely influential historian of American music, two-time winner of the society’s Lowens Book Award, recipient of the society’s Lifetime Achievement Award, and founding editor-in-chief of Music of the United States of America (MUSA) – a series of scholarly editions representing the full range of genres and idioms in American music. This fellowship supports research conducted by contracted MUSA volume editors. It funds research expenses involved in the preparation of critical editions, including but not limited to travel expenses, lodging, books, and media resources. The maximum award is $1,000. The fellowship is awarded at annual conferences held in even years, starting in 2018.

A one-page budget and final report are to be submitted by the recipient to the Executive Director of the Society no more than one year after the award is presented.



Applicants must be members in good standing of the Society for American Music.


Application Requirements

In addition to the application form, applicants must provide the following documentation:

  • Current full CV from the contracted editor
  • Narrative of no more than five pages (double-spaced) that describes the MUSA volume, the scope of the research, and the need for funding
  • One-page budget for the project



November 1


Past Fellows

Year Fellow
2018 Laura Moore Pruett, "La nuit des tropiques" and "Á Montevideo": A Critical Edition of Two Symphonies by Louis Moreau Gottschalk (MUSA)