Vivian Perlis Concerts

Vivian PerlisThe Society for American Music is delighted to host an annual series of performances of music by contemporary American composers at the society's annual conferences. We are grateful to the Virgil Thomson Foundation, the Aaron Copland Fund, and to members of the Society for their generous support.  This concert series honors Vivian Perlis, whose publications, scholarly activities, and direction of the Oral History of American Music (OHAM) project at Yale University have made immeasurable contributions to our understanding of American composers and music cultures. In 2007 the Society for American Music awarded her the Lifetime Achievement Award for her remarkable achievements.

 Conference Year  Concert Program
 2016 Boston  Florestan Recital Project
 2017 Montreal  Concert Program
 2018 Kansas City  Works by 2018 Honorary Members Chen Yi and Zhou Long
 2019 New Orleans  Music of New Orleans