Awards, Fellowships, and Subventions Overview


Cambridge University Press Award
Wiley Housewright Dissertation Award
Irving Lowens Award for Best Article
Irving Lowens Award for Best Book
Mark Tucker Award for Outstanding Student Paper
Lifetime Achievement Award
Distinguished Service Citation


SAM is proud to support the activities of scholars of American music at all stages of their career. The following table provides information about each of our fellowships. With the exception of those fellowships marked “SAM Member,” all are eligible and welcome to apply. 

Fellowship Topic Award Eligibility
Adrienne Fried Block Fellowship Urban musical life $3,000 SAM member
Paul Charosh Independent Scholar Fellowship Scholarly research $1,500 any independent scholar
Edward T. Cone Fellowship Concert music $2,000 SAM member
Richard Crawford Fellowship Critical editions $1,000 MUSA volume editor
John and Roberta Graziano Fellowship 19th-century music $1,000 SAM member with doctoral degree or equivalent
Charles Hamm Fellowship Popular music $2,000 SAM member
Hampsong Education Fellowship Education and song $1,000 any educator

Kate Van Winkle Keller Fellowship
Antiquarian music and dance
$1,850any scholar
Margery Morgan Lowens Dissertation Research Fellowship Dissertation research $4,000 any Ph.D. candidate (early stages)
Judith McCulloh Fellowship Folk-based musical culture $1,000 SAM member
Anne Dhu McLucas Fellowship Traditional or Native American/First Nation or any oral musical culture $1,000 any graduate student
Wayne Shirley Fellowship Research at Library of Congress $1000 SAM member
Eileen Southern Fellowship African diasporic music $1,000 SAM member
Virgil Thomson Fellowship Music on stage and screen $4,000 SAM member
Judith Tick Fellowship Women’s, gender, and sexuality studies $1,000 SAM member
Robert Walser and Susan McClary Fellowship Dissertation research $11,000 Any Ph.D. candidate from a historically underrepresented group


H. Earle Johnson Publication Subvention
Sight and Sound (non-print) Subvention
Student Travel Subvention