John and Roberta Graziano Fellowship


This fellowship, endowed by John and Roberta Graziano, shall be given to support scholarly research in all genres of music that originated in the United States in the nineteenth century, as well as other music performed in North America during that historical period.

No more than one award will be offered in each yearly cycle. The amount of the award each cycle will vary depending on the interest generated by the endowment. The maximum award is $1,000.

A one-page budget and final report will be submitted by the recipient to the Executive Director of the Society no more than one year after the award is presented.



Applicants must be members in good standing of the Society for American Music. Projects that have already received SAM fellowship support (other “Fellowship” awards given by the Society) are not eligible to receive the Graziano Fellowship.

This award is available to scholars who have completed a doctoral degree or its equivalent in publications. In the event of submissions of equal scholarly value in a given year, preference will be given to scholars in the early part of their careers.


Application Requirements

In addition to the application form, applicants will provide the following:

  • A one-page letter of application with contact information.
  • A current full CV.
  • A narrative of no more than five pages (double-spaced) that describes the scope of the project and the need for funding.
  • A one-page budget for the project.



November 1


Past Fellows

Year Winners
2019 Brian Christopher Thompson, “Empire Minstrels: James Unsworth Jr. (1835-1875), Immigration, Politics, and Transatlantic Culture”
2018 Nicole Vilkner, From Utility to Fancy: Coach Horns and Musical Recreation in the Late 19th Century
2017 Jennifer C. H. J. Wilson, The Repertoire of Far-Off Lands: French Opera in Antebellum New Orleans
2016 Kristen Turner, Opera on the American Popular Stage (1890-1914)
2015 Laura Moore Pruett, Critical Edition of Two Symphonies (Symphonie Romantique and Á Montevideo) by Louis Moreau Gottschalk